(16) 3412-9752


Call for Bids to Host the 2017 Mathematical Congress of the Americas

The MCofA – Mathematical Council of the Americas invites the mathematical organizations based in the continent to bid to organize the 2nd Mathematical Congress of the Americas, which will take place in July – August 2017 in some mathematical center in North America, Central America, South America, or the Caribbean. The MCA2017 will follow the very successful MCA2013 which was held in Guanajuato, Mexico.
The goal of the Mathematical Congress of the Americas is to highlight the excellence of mathematical achievements in the Americas within the context of the international arena and to foster the scientific integration of all mathematical communities in the continent. The Congress will take place over 5 days and will include plenary lectures, invited lectures and special sessions, selected by a Program Committee appointed by the Executive Committee of the MCofA.
The bids to host the MCA2017 are requested to include the following relevant information:
 the exact location and size of the facilities, conference rooms and expected hotel space;
 the names of the main local organizers and some of their relevant organizational experience;
 an approximate budget for the Congress scaled for an anticipated registration between 500 and 2,000 people;
 anticipated local sources of external funding for the Congress at this location;
 relevant discussion of the ease of access of the location for international participants;
 suggestions for 5 day periods between mid July and mid August 2017 when the Congress could take place;
 other factors that might make this a particularly appealing site for the Congress.
The bids are to be sent to the Executive Commitee of the MCofA by email, to, by October 15, 2013. The Executive Committee will arrange site visits to some of the proposed locations for the Congress and the decision on the host
and location of the MCA2017 will be announced by January 01, 2014.
Thank you very much for your attention.
The Interim Executive Committee of the MCofA
Susan Friedlander, José Antonio de la Peña, Marcelo Viana